Christmas, Clutter, and Being Good for Goodness Sake

I’ve made a point to make sure this year to declutter our play area before Christmas gets here. I told the kids that Santa wouldn’t come unless they each gave ten of their personal items to children in need. They went through their toys and clothes, we packed up their items, and donated them to charity. Then when they weren’t paying attention, I went through everything again and donated about 30 more items. We also took both of them to put money from Jacquelyn’s piggy bank in the Salvation Army bucket.  We participated in the angel tree and canned food drive at Jacq’s school, and I have a toy to take to Toys for Tots. It is really important to me that they don’t take material items for granted. When they are older, they will be required to volunteer in some capacity, and I hope we can do so as a family.

This entry was posted in Children and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas, Clutter, and Being Good for Goodness Sake

  1. Meech says:

    Good work!

  2. Lisa says:

    That’s great, Jenn. I feel the same way. I can’t tell you how good it feels to give up some of the things that the kids aren’t playing with anymore and give them to kids in need. I dropped off a bunch of brand new toys that were ‘just in case Owen gets invited to a bday party’ things. They were just collecting dust (hmmmm…) so we took them to the fire station to donate. The guys there said that the need this year had tripled from last year. Very sad…Also, the angel tree item we picked off of the angel tree at school, was a 6 year old little boy that only wanted a new pair of pants (!) We took in 4 pairs. That just breaks my heart. John said next year to grab as many as I can and Spectrum Eyecare can take care of them. Makes me feel very blessed!

Leave a Reply

